What was the stated purpose of the Food Administration during the Great War? A. It was to set up food banks for Americans B. It was to reduce civilian food consumption C. It provided food to the unemployed D. It collected food donations to be sent to soldiers in Europe
Answer: The stated purpose of the food administration during the great war was to reduce food consumption by civilians (B)
The U. S. Food Administration was the department responsible for the administration of the United States army abroad and food reserves of its allies during the World War 1. An important role of the United States Food Administration was the regulation of the price of wheat in the market.
During the war, the United States was short of commodities because the commodities were sold to their allies hence, every citizen were asked to donate horses, weapons and ammunition they had to help supply the army. It was done so that food for soldiers wouldn't be an issue.
It collected food donations to be sent to soldiers in Europe
On August, 1917 almost immediately after US joined the World War I, the US food administration was set up to manage wartime supply of food. A voluntary program was set up where Americans were encouraged to donate foods to US troops and its allies by modifying their eating habits and also reducing their consumption levels.
Raner, Harris, & Chan is a consulting firm that specializes in information systems for medical and dental clinics. The firm has two offices—one in Chicago and one in Minneapolis. The firm classifies the direct costs of consulting jobs as variable costs.Assume that Minneapolis’ sales by major market are: Market Minneapolis Medical Dental Sales $ 330,000 100 % $ 220,000 100 % $ 110,000 100 % Variable expenses 198,000 60 % 143,000 65 % 55,000 50 %
Common fixed expenses not traceable to markets 9,900 3 %
Office segment margin $ 82,500 25 %
The company would like to initiate an intensive advertising campaign in one of the two market segments during the next month. The campaign would cost $4,400. Marketing studies indicate that such a campaign would increase sales in the Medical market by $38,500 or increase sales in the Dental market by $33,000. Required: Calculate the increased segment margin.for Medical: Calculate the increased segment margin for Dental:
Increase Segment margin for Medial = $9,075
Increase Segment margin for Dental = $12,100
The calculation of increased segment margin.for Medical and Dental is shown below:-
Incremental Sales $38,500 $33,000
Less: Variable Cost ($25,025) ($16,500)
(Medical 65% and ($38,500 × 65%) ($33,000 × 50%)
Contribution Margin $13,475 $16,500
Advertising Cost ($4,400) ($4,400)
Margin $9,075 $12,100
A. Scissorwire Inc. can register with the SEC at any point after the dip in shares.
The U.S. government can file a criminal lawsuit against Scissorwire Inc. to seek Scissorwire Inc. sells shares of its stock to the public, with each share valued at $16. After a year, the company incurs a loss and the price of the stock drops to $5. The company reveals that it had deliberately not registered with the SEC before going public and that it has no money to pay the investors. Which of the following holds well in this context? Answer
Scissorwire Inc. can register with the SEC at any point after the dip in shares.
The U.S. government can file a criminal lawsuit against Scissorwire Inc. to seek criminal penalties.
The investors have been negligent in not verifying registration before purchase of shares and cannot rescind their purchase.
Scissorwire Inc. is liable for the violation of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.
The answer to this would be the second one
A profit maximizing competitive firm in a market with NO externalities will produce the quantity of output whereA) price = marginal cost B) marginal revenue = marginal cost C) marginal benefit = marginal cost D) all of these are true
A profit maximizing competitive firm in a market with NO externalities will produce the quantity of output where
price = marginal cost
marginal revenue = marginal cost
marginal benefit = marginal cost
All of the options are true.
In a highly competitive market, companies set marginal incomes at marginal cost level (MR= MC) in order to make a profit. MR is the pitch of the profit curve, which represents the (D) and price (P) of the demand curve as well.
It is necessary to have positive, or negative economic benefits in the shorter term. The company profits whenever the price exceeds the total average cost. The company loses on the market if premiums are less than average total costs.
All of the following are parts of business models employed in the online music industry except: Question 2 options: A) peer-to-peer streaming. B) cloud streaming. C) download-and-own. D) subscription.
Answer: A) peer-to-peer streaming
Explanation: Peer-to-Peer streaming is one of the most popular media applications over the internet in recent times and it is a part of business models employed in the online music industry. These systems reduce the load on the server and provide a scalable content distribution and as such, partitions tasks or workloads between peers (equally privileged, participants who make a portion of their resources directly available to other network participants, without the need for central coordination by servers or stable hosts).
All options are parts of business models in the online music industry except for 'peer-to-peer streaming', which is a method of data transfer, not a business model itself.
All named options are indeed part of business models in the online music industry except for 'peer-to-peer streaming'. Let's examine each choice:
Peer-to-peer streaming: This is not a business model, but a method of data transfer. In the context of music, it refers to sharing files directly between users without a central server, and it does not inherently involve monetary transactions or business operations.
Cloud streaming: This refers to a service where users can stream music from the cloud. These services often work on a subscription basis, similar to SiriusXM.
Download-and-own: In this model, customers pay a one-time fee to download and own a digital copy of a song or album. Once purchased, customers can listen to the music offline and keep it permanently.
Subscription: This is a common model in the online music industry. Services like Spotify, Apple Music and SiriusXM operate on a subscription basis where customers pay a regular fee for unlimited access to music libraries.
Learn more about online music industry business models here:
Profit is the difference between a. assets and liabilities b. the incoming cash and outgoing cash c. the assets purchased with cash contributed by the owner and the cash spent to operate the business d. the amounts received from customers for goods or services and the amounts paid for the inputs used to provide the goods or services
Answer: D) the amounts received from customers for goods or services and the amounts paid for the inputs used to provide the goods or services
The profit is the difference between the income and the expenses as:
Profit = Income - expense
Income is money that one earn profit in their business and expenses are the money which we spend. And your total income is your revenue. And if the number is in positive value then, it makes profit. Therefore, (D) is the correct option.
Profit, in financial terms, is the monetary gain realized when the amount earned from a business activity (typically selling goods or services) exceeds the costs, overhead, and taxes necessary to sustain the activity. This is represented by option D in your query. The formula for profit is: total revenue - total costs.
In the context of business, 'Profit' is mentioned as the difference between the amounts received from customers for goods or services and the amounts paid for the inputs used to provide those goods or services. This definition is represented by option D in your question. To give an example, if you run a candy shop and you sell $500 worth of candies in a day, but the candies’ original cost is $200, and you have spent an additional $50 on operation costs, your profit for the day would be: $500 (amount received from sales) - $200 (cost of candies) - $50 (operation cost) = $250. This is known as Net Profit.
Faucet Company has 2,500,000 shares of common stock outstanding on December 31, year 1. An additional 500,000 shares of common stock were issued on April 1, year 2, and 250,000 more on July 1, year 2. On October 1, year 2, Faucet issued 5,000, $1,000 face value, 7% convertible bonds. Each bond is convertible into 40 shares of common stock. No bonds were converted into common stock in year 2. What is the number of shares to be used in computing basic earnings per share and diluted earnings per share, respectively, for the year ended December 31, year 2?
Number of Shares for Basic Earnings per Share = 3,000,000
Number of Shares for Diluted Earnings per Share = 3,200,000
Basic Earnings per Share = Earnings Attributable to Holders of Common Stock / Weighted Average Number of Common Shares
Weighted Average Number of Common Shares
Common Shares Outstanding - December 31, year 1 2,500,000
April 1, Year 2 Issue, 9/12× 500,000 375,000
July 1, Year 2 Issue, 6/12× 250,000 125,000
Number of Shares for Basic Earnings per Share 3,000,000
Diluted Earnings per Share =Adjusted Earnings Attributable to Holders of Common Stock /Adjusted Weighted Average Number of Common Shares
Adjusted Weighted Average Number of Common Shares
Number of Shares for Basic Earnings per Share 3,000,000
Number of Shares for Diluted Earnings per Share 3,200,000
To compute basic earnings per share (EPS) and diluted earnings per share for the year ended December 31, year 2, we need to consider the weighted average number of shares outstanding during the year. The number of shares to be used in computing basic EPS would be 2,500,000 for the first three months, then 3,000,000 for the next six months, and finally 3,250,000 for the last three months. For diluted EPS, we would use the same number of shares as the basic EPS calculation.
To compute basic earnings per share (EPS), we need to consider the weighted average number of shares outstanding during the year. For this, we calculate the number of months each share was outstanding and then multiply it by the number of shares for that period. The number of shares to be used in computing basic EPS would be 2,500,000 for the first three months, then 3,000,000 (2,500,000 + 500,000) for the next six months, and finally 3,250,000 (2,500,000 + 500,000 + 250,000) for the last three months.
For diluted EPS, we need to consider the potential dilutive effect of convertible bonds. Since no bonds were converted into common stock, the number of shares to be used in computing diluted EPS would be the same as the basic EPS calculation.